There are a series of water-powered mills dating back to the Muslim period near the Utrera massif which took advantage of the energy provided by the water of the Albarrán stream and the Manilva river. These mills are of enormous interest due to their peculiar construction and the availability of mechanisms (out of use today) used to grind this area´s agricultural products. These mills were concessions of the Duke of Arcos in 1508 and 1512. There are eight mills still using their original name: the Arriba or Gorrino Mill; the Fábrica de San Pablo or Fábrica de los Molinos or Fábrica de la Americana; the Gordo Mill; the Madrileño Mill; the Bayo Mill; the Cancón Mill; the La Chica Mill; and the Gómez Mill. Their individual histories were often a matter of bitter disputes among residents, thus constituting a unique page in the history of Casares. Of these mills, three are within the Utrera-Los Baños area, of which one is inhabited (the Cancón Mill) and the other two are in ruins (La Chica Mill and the Gómez Mill). The Cancón Mill is located on the upper reaches of the Albarrán stream. It appearance today barely reflects its original appearance, as it has been mostly transformed. However, it still maintains the water channel and part of the mill. For their part, the buildings of the La Chica Mill and the Gómez Mill are both in ruins, but they still maintain most of their characteristic elements, which are typical of the 16th century, such as a double water channel that powered the grinding mechanisms.
Camino Ruta de Casares a Los Baños de la Hedionda.
29690 Casares (Casares)
Tel.: 952 89 51 48
Web Molinos Harineros
- Tickets must be shown
- Entry is free
- Types of Access
- Equipped with access for the disabled
- Equipped with interpretation centre